CITY OF HOLLYWOOD RESIDENTS

Oppose Costly and Burdensome Fee Hikes and New Inspection Requirements


The Hollywood City Commission will be voting on a measure to drastically increase Vacation Rental Registration Fees and adopt new inspection requirements for rental properties during their meeting on Wednesday, August 30, 2017 at 1:00pm.

Initial registration fees will jump from $200 to $500, while renewals will rise from $150 to $350.  Additionally, new inspection requirements will result in a lot more government red tape and an additional $225 fee, and more for properties larger than 1,500 square feet.

Why Does This Matter?

While the current fees and rental requirements are already overly costly and burdensome, this new fee structure will add greater burdens for homeowners simply trying to rent their homes and pay their bills. 

These new fees and requirements will also open the floodgates for homeowners to have to register all rental properties and pay these hefty fees when all many are trying to do is pay their mortgage, and their hefty insurance and property taxes.  Ultimately, homeowners will take this hit or simply pass the burden along to their consumers!

Here’s how you can help!

First and foremost, call the Office of the Mayor & City Commission at 954-921-3321 and tell staff you wish to leave a message for Mayor Levy & all of the City Commissioners stating you are opposed to this extreme hike in Vacation Rental Registration Fees and the new red tape inspection requirements for the reasons outlined above.


Email Mayor Josh Levy, the City Commissioners & the staff contact in charge of this issue and tell them the same: 

Mayor Josh Levy • jlevy@hollywoodfl.org

Commissioner Linda Sherwood • lsherwood@hollywoodfl.org

Commissioner Debra Case • dcase@hollywoodfl.org

Commissioner Kevin Biederman • kbiederman@hollywoodfl.org

Commissioner Richard Blattner • rblattner@hollywoodfl.org

Commissioner Traci Callari • tcallari@hollywoodfl.org

Commissioner Peter Hernandez • phernandez@hollywoodfl.org

Lori Meteens-Black, Civic Affairs Officer • lm-b@hollywoodfl.org

http://www.hollywoodfl.org/89/City-Commission

 

Attend the Hollywood City Commission meeting on Wednesday, August 30, at 1:00 p.m., to communicate your concerns.  The meeting will be held in the Hollywood City Commission Chamber, 2600 Hollywood Blvd., Hollywood, FL 33022.  It would be helpful if you would sign up to speak either when this issue is directly discussed, or during General Public Comments towards the end of the meeting.

By coming together and all doing our part we can protect homeowners, homeownership, and the rental and overall housing market in Hollywood and beyond!